Comparing Yourself to Others? Look Deeper.

A Christian Science perspective: On overcoming attitudes of perceived inferiority and superiority.

By JAMES EARLY

Christ Jesus showed how we can quit judging according to outward appearances, by understanding a deeper reality, the law of God, or divine Science of being. Mary Baker Eddy, who founded this paper, wrote, “Jesus beheld in Science the perfect man, who appeared to him where sinning mortal man appears to mortals” (“Science and Health with Key to the Scriptures,” pp. 476-477). He did not behold the “perfect man” in physique, personality, career, family history, connections, fame, or fortune. He healed people by seeing their spiritual perfection as God’s loved creation.

Many years ago I was pouring out my challenges and frustrations with my workplace to a Christian Science practitioner – someone who helps solve problems through prayer based on an understanding of Jesus’ healing theology. I was feeling inadequate. I seemed incapable of working out my problems. And then I complained that some of my co-workers just weren’t taking their jobs very seriously and that made it hard for me because I was trying to do the very best I could.

The practitioner was incredibly patient with me and shared very helpful ideas, but one thing he said startled me: “James, you can’t afford to think you are superior to anyone, especially your co-workers.”

I’d recognized that I felt inferior, but I hadn’t realized I was also entertaining thoughts of superiority. What a jolt!  Read full article »


Article Source: The Christian Science Monitor.
Image Source: Unattributed image, Google search result.

 

Leave a Reply

